The Poet X WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019

Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer’ Guardian ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her ...

The Poet X   WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019

The Poet X WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019

THE WINNER OF THE 2018 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 'I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.' - Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give 'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.' - Tomi Adeyemi, bestselling author of The Children of Blood and Bone “Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice.” —Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation “An incredibly potent debut.” —Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost “Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero.” —Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street THE POET X - a stunning New York Times bestseller with a powerful and unforgettable YA voice. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi's The Children of Blood and Bone, Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan's One. Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But X has secrets – her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent. A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written - dealing with issues of race, feminism and faith - this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie. 'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart.' - Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speakand Chains 'Acevedo breathes words instead of air' - Lisa Heathfield, author of award-winning Paper Butterflies ‘Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer’ Guardian ELIZABETH ACEVEDO was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city’s tough grit. The Poet X is her debut novel and a National Book Award winner. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has performed internationally and her poetry has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post and Teen Vogue. Acevedo is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.

More Books:

The Poet X - WINNER OF THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Elizabeth Acevedo
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-08 - Publisher: Egmont UK

THE WINNER OF THE 2018 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 'I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.' - Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give 'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it
With the Fire on High
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Elizabeth Acevedo
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-19 - Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.

'A delicious, evocative story' THE GUARDIAN From the author of THE POET X comes a sumptuous prose novel, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' On the Come Up, Justin Reynolds' Opposite of Always and Nicola Yoon Ever since she got pregnant, seventeen-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough
Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2021
Language: en
Pages: 816
Authors: Bloomsbury Publishing
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-23 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

The latest edition of the bestselling guide to all you need to know about how to get published, is packed full of advice, inspiration and practical information. The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook has been guiding writers and illustrators on the best way to present their work, how to navigate the

Popular All Time

Modern Etiquette Made Easy
#TIL: Today I Learned
3,000 Spanish Words and Phrases They Won't Teach You in School
EMT Crash Course with Online Practice Test, 2nd Edition
Romeo and Juliet (No Fear Shakespeare)
The Old Farmer's Almanac 2021
Princeton Review GED Test Prep, 2021
Calculus Made Easy
Julius Caesar (No Fear Shakespeare)
Extreme Ownership
PTCB Practice Exam Book 2020–2021
Greenlights by Matthew McConaughey (Discussion Prompts)
How to Get Into PA School: Learn the Secrets the Physician Assistant Schools Don't Want You to Know
Summary of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale by Swift Reads
Summary of Happy Gut: The Cleansing Program to Help You Lose Weight, Gain Energy, and Eliminate Pain by Vincent Pedre (Discussion Prompts)
White Fragility - Summarized for Busy People: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism: Based on the Book by Robin J. DiAngelo
Essential Spanish: Conversations
Gramática inglesa para dummies

Recent Books: