The Extended Mind

The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who ...

The Extended Mind

The Extended Mind

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships Use your head. That's what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we've got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of "extra-neural" resources--the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us-- can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively. The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors--from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro--have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner's Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman's Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

More Books:

The Extended Mind
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Annie Murphy Paul
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher: Eamon Dolan Books

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains--in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships Use your head. That's what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we've got
The Extended Mind
Language: en
Pages: 382
Authors: Richard Menary
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010 - Publisher: MIT Press

Leading scholars respond to the famous proposition by Andy Clark and David Chalmersthat cognition and mind are not located exclusively in the head.
Cognitive Systems and the Extended Mind
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Robert D. Rupert
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-08-19 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Cognitive Systems and the Extended Mind surveys philosophical issues raised by the situated movement in cognitive science, that is, the treatment of cognitive phenomena as the joint products of brain, body, and environment.
The Extended Mind
Language: en
Pages: 230
Authors: Richard Menary
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006 - Publisher:

Where does the mind stop and the rest of the world begin? In their famous 1998 paper "The Extended Mind," philosophers Andy Clark and David J. Chalmers posed this question and answered it provocatively: cognitive processes "ain't all in the head." The environment has an active role in driving cognition;
The Extended Mind
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Robert K. Logan
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-06-12 - Publisher: University of Toronto Press

The ability to communicate through language is such a fundamental part of human existence that we often take it for granted, rarely considering how sophisticated the process is by which we understand and make ourselves understood. In The Extended Mind, acclaimed author Robert K. Logan examines the origin, emergence, and

Popular All Time

Barrel Fever
No One Asked for This
Girl With No Job
The Wreckage of My Presence
The Basic Laws of Human Stupidity
The Best of Me
You'll Never Believe What Happened to Lacey
Next Level Basic
Girl Logic
Is It Just Me?
Chicken Soup for the Soul: Read, Laugh, Repeat
Bring Your Baggage and Don't Pack Light
My Squirrel Days
Yes Please
Inside Comedy
The Devil's Candy
When You Are Engulfed in Flames
One Day You'll Thank Me

Recent Books: